Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Greetings and Huge Chopper Knife (Cliff/Dan K Inspiration and Tribute)

Posted by Future Samurai 
Greetings and Huge Chopper Knife (Cliff/Dan K Inspiration and Tribute)
November 09, 2021 09:11PM
Hello to all, I'm finally happy to be here after lurking for quite some time, and learning many things from so many great people on here.

*First I would like to begin by saying that Cliff is always in our thoughts and hearts. May God rest his soul forever.*

A little introduction about myself:
-I've been a hobbyist Bladesmith for about a a year-and-a-half. I've been on bladeforums for awhile now, I regret not being apart of this community while Cliff was still here... sad smiley
-Japanese sword enthusiast
-Forging FTW

Secondly:

I've made my share of large knives, both outdoor and kitchen (cleaver and chefs), I even had two Japanese swords that are forged out and only needing cleanup and heat treating.

However, about a year back, I started looking further into larger chopping knifes/Comp Choppers/Bladesports etc. found Dan Keffeler and really enjoyed his material. Then not long after I come to find that Cliff has a huge custom knife that was made by Keffeler. Well, needless to say, I started wanting a monstrous knife like that. I was in the middle of other knives so I didn't really want to drop those and have multiple incomplete blades.

Recently, I was able to start this project and I'm in the finishing stages now. I will firstly point out that even though I truly loved Cliff's blade, I didn't want a carbon copy in terms of appearance. I always like to have a little bit of my own influence on every blade I make. I did want certain parameters from his blade though; specifically mass and POB, having the ability to deliver heavy chops similar to an axe, yet still work like a knife as well.

My Blade (and it's differences from Cliffs/Dan's design philosophy):